August 27, 2012
Broker Connection News Alert
Prescription Drug List and Pharmacy Benefit Updates for Jan. 1The following updates will take place on UnitedHealthcare’s Advantage and Traditional Prescription Drug Lists (PDLs) along with the SignatureValue Formulary on Jan. 1. Both benefits managed by UnitedHealthcare pharmacy and OptumRx are listed below. If you are unsure of the plan or PDL that applies to your customer, please contact your UnitedHealthcare representative.

UnitedHealthcare Pharmacy Benefits

Fully Insured Customers:

  • Advantage PDL Updates
  • Traditional PDL Updates

Self-Funded Customers:

  • Advantage PDL Updates
  • Traditional PDL Updates

Learn More at the Webcast
You and your customers are invited to attend a presentation of the pharmacy benefit strategies for Jan. 1, 2013 updates planned for both the Advantage and Traditional PDLs. You will have the opportunity to ask questions and discuss the updates that impact you, so we encourage you and your customers to attend.

Date: Sept. 5, 2012
Audience/Time:
Broker / Fully Insured Customer:
11 a.m. CT (12 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. MT /
9 a.m. PT)
Broker Registration for Webcast

Consultant / Self-Funded Customer:
1 p.m. CT (2 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. MT /
11 a.m. ET)
Consultant Registration for Webcast

Communications
Members taking medications impacted by a change will receive a letter in December or earlier; lower-cost alternatives may be listed. Most PDL updates are communicated to physicians and pharmacies.

Network Specialty Pharmacies to Limit Copay Coupons
Effective Jan. 1, 2013, UnitedHealthcare’s specialty pharmacies will no longer redeem manufacturer coupon cards for select Tier 3 specialty medications. View coupon information sheet.

For more information about the Jan. 1, 2013 pharmacy benefit, contact your UnitedHealthcare representative or for more general PDL information, visit uhc.com/pharmacy.

UnitedHealthcare Pharmacy Benefits Currently Administered
by OptumRx
  • Advantage PDL Updates
  • Traditional PDL Updates
  • SignatureValue Formulary Updates

Learn More
A recorded presentation of the OptumRx updates will be available in September.

Communications
Members taking select medications impacted by a change will receive a letter in November; lower-cost alternatives may be listed. Most PDL updates are communicated to physicians and pharmacies.

For more information about the Jan. 1 pharmacy benefit updates, please contact your UnitedHealthcare representative.

**Please note not all PDL updates apply to all groups depending on state regulations, riders, and Summary Plan Descriptions (SPDs).